Right to Public Service Act, 2015

The Maharashtra Right to Public Service Act, 2015 is a revolutionary Act. This Act provides that the citizens shall be provided services by the State Government in a transparent, efficient and time bound manner. In order to ensure effective implementation of this Act, the Maharashtra State Commission for Right to Services has been established. On 1st March, 2017 former Chief Secretary of Maharashtra State, Shri Swadheen Kshatriya was appointed as the First State Chief Commissioner for Right to Services. After completing his tenure, he retired on 25.01.2022. Then Shri Dilip Shinde who was appointed as Commissioner, Right to Services, Pune held additional charge of the post of the Chief Commissioner, Right to Services, Maharashtra State from 25.01.2022 to 03.05.2023. Now from 04.05.2023, Ex. Chief Secretary of Maharashtra, Shri Manu Kumar Srivastava has taken over charge as the Chief Commissioner, Right to Services, Maharashtra State.

Citizens can get complete information regarding which services are available under this Act by accessing either the mobile app ‘RTS Maharashtra’ or ‘Aaple Sarkar Web Portal’. Citizens can even apply online for availing these services. In case of delay in providing the services or denial of the services without adequate justification, citizens can file first and second Appeal with senior officers within the department and third and final Appeal can be filed before the Commission.

The Maharashtra Right to Public Services Act, 2015 is enacted and is in force since 28.04.2015 to ensure that notified services are provided to the citizens in a transparent, speedy and time-bound manner by various Government Departments and Public Authorities under the Government. Its objective is to provide easy, prompt and time bound services to the citizens.

The Maharashtra State Commission for Right to Public Service has been constituted under the above Act to monitor, coordinate, control and improve the public services being provided by the Government. The Commission consists of a Chief Commissioner and six Commissioners. The headquarter of the Commission is at the New Administrative Building, Opposite Mantralaya, Mumbai and the Divisional Offices of the Commissioners are at the six Divisional Headquarters.

If any notified service is not provided to any eligible person within stipulated time or is rejected without proper grounds, the concerned person may file 1st and 2nd appeals with the higher authorities and if he is not satisfied with their decision, hemay prefer third appeal to the Commission. The erring officer is liable for a penalty up to Rs 5000/- per case. Notified Services rendered by this Department are as per enclosed proforma.

Website of the Maharashtra State Commission for Right to Services is :-